For the Birds…

Its Sunday, which typically means I can find Dad in his chair and the sounds of whistles, commentators, and professional athletes filling my living room.Today is definitely worthy of “typical Sunday” and I’m not the only one participating in the festivities, at least that’s what my Twitter tells me. The people who I follow on Twitter range from kids I went to high school with, actors, reality stars, athletes, and the handful of randoms that somehow made it to my news feed. With having said that, it is always intriguing to see who is doing, or more interestingly, who is thinking the things I am too. Earlier this afternoon Demarcus Ware tweeted “Who watching some football today?,” three hours later I see 289 retweets and 103 favorites, (not to mention the replies), for his tweet. About five minutes ago, my best friends little brother tweeted about what he thinks a Saints game might be like… hmm, I wonder? I must admit, seeing all the hype about Sunday football on twitter had a big factor in the couch camp I’ve made that has a focal point in the exact direction of the Saints game right now.  See, I think thats what makes Twitter such a fun place- the cultural experience it brings with it.

Steven Johnson says it best, “the most fascinating thing about Twitter is not what it’s doing to us. It’s what we’re doing to it.” And what exactly are we doing to it? I look at it this way; do the lyrics in a choir concert win the contest, or is it he choir students who sing the lyrics? Twitter is successful because its participants give it a voice, a life even.

Think of Twitter like a tree. As it grows, the branches widen for more birds to chirp alonng

Build Your Nest, One Twig At a Time

Recently we were all asked to create a Twitter account, how many of you actually use it for things beside class credit? Better yet, how  many people see it using you more than you use it? Take me for example, the fact that my Twitter showed me how many people were watching football made me feel more compelled to watch, more a part of a group that has been categorized as a majority- tweeters. Both Steven Johnson and Bernardo Huberman credit Twitters popularity to the “hidden social network” as Huberman calls it, “the one that matters when trying to rely on word of mouth to spread an idea, a belief, or a trend.”

Today, according to the oncoming tweets I’m receiving, is reserved for football, who knows what the trend will be tomorrow. Lets see, its the 9th of September, so I can guess that we will shortly be hit with tweets pertaining to the events of September 11th- it has after all become a ritual to remember that part of history on the specific day it happened. Look out, here comes the big picture! The unity of America is most effective through active participation, Twitter only opens another window for that sort of opportunity.  The more people who join in the “chirp,” the faster your tree will grow, and the more furnished your nest will be built.

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.